Bulgaria during the years

Bulgaria during the years 

Bulgaria is a country in Europe. It is located on the Balkan Peninsula and is bordered by Turkey and Greece to the south with Serbia and Macedonia - to the west, Romania - the north and the Black Sea to the east . Bulgaria's history is extremely rich . The country has gone through many ups and downs, after Asparoukh puts its foundation in 681 . Bulgaria is a parliamentary republic headed by a president who is directly elected by the voters for a term of five years. The flag and coat of arms of the country are well known to all . The country is very rich in natural beauty , which with its variety of small area make it extremely attractive.

Old Great Bulgaria

Old Great Bulgaria Old Great Bulgaria is a country with early-medieval king khan Kubrat. It is also called Kubrat Bulgaria. There was about 30, after 632 in the area of the northern Pontic - today's Ukraine. Some sources for its capital is Fanagoria. This assumption is based on the chronicle, but not supported by the archaeological evidence. It is a military alliance of tribal proto and neighboring tribes, hitherto subject to the Avar Khanate and Zapadnotyurkskiya at boundaries: east - the Kuban River, on the south - the Azov and Black seas (except southern Crimea), on the west - the Dnieper River, north - Donets River. In the VII century, the Bulgars are still semi-nomadic pastoralists, being settling down for life.


First Bulgarian Empire

First Bulgarian Empire, also called Danubian Bulgaria, unlike Volga Bulgaria was originally Khanate, but from the coronation of Simeon I the Great King of an empire. It existed in the Balkan Peninsula and adjacent parts of Eastern Europe from 679 to 1018 Its founder is a Khan Asparuh Dulo such that after the collapse of Old Great Bulgaria brings some of the Bulgarian tribes in today Bessarabia and Dobrudja, forming a common army local Slavic tribes,Pliska forcing the Eastern Roman Empire (Byzantium) to pay tribute after his landslide victory in the Battle of Onglos in 680 first capital and is Onglos near the present village Nikulitsel (Romania), and then (when it is questionable right) is established Pliska. At the end of the 9th century, the capital was moved to Veliki Preslav, then conquered by Kievan Rus at the end of X century, moved to Skopje and Ohrid. Its greatest territorial expansion reached the First Bulgarian Empire during the IX century, Bulgaria in Tsar Simeon the Great when the original territories of the Lower Danube were connected areas in Thrace and Macedonia, parts of modern Albania, Serbia and Romania, and part of the Northern Black Sea (Dnieper River) . During the same period, the centralization of government. It is accompanied by the consolidation of diverse ethnic groups in the medieval Bulgarian nationality, the common language which developed on the basis of Slavic. In 864-866, the Knyaz Boris I in Orthodox Christianity became the state religion, which leads to significant changes in the cultural life of the country during the so-called Golden Age of Tsar Simeon the Great. At the same ruler Bulgarians make lengthy but unsuccessful attempts to conquer the capital of the Eastern Roman Empire - Constantinople (called by the Bulgarians and Slavs "Constantinople"). Basilica in Pliska e symbol of the power of the First Bulgarian Empire and its cultural center. Bulgarian-Byzantine wars, along with the invasions of the Hungarians (Magyars), Pechenegs and Russians, at different times lead to expansion and weakening of the Bulgarian state.

Second Bulgarian Empire

Second Bulgarian Empire's feudal state, empire, successor of the First Bulgarian Empire, revived after the uprising of Asen and Peter against Byzantine rule in 1185 and the coronation of their kings. Ceases to exist after the fall of the Ottoman Empire in the Vidin Kingdom in 1396.

Third Bulgarian state

Third Bulgarian state began its existence on March 3, 1878, when with the Treaty of San Stefano was ended the Russo-Turkish War. Originally populated territory covers Bulgarian lands from the Black Sea to Lake Ohrid and Dunavdo Aegean. Worried by the significant Russian influence in the Balkans, the Great Powers conducted the Berlin Congress Treaty of San Stefano and reviewed. Differentiated territorial changes made Moesia and the Sofia field vassal of the Ottoman Empire, the Principality of Bulgaria. Within the empire remained autonomous province of Eastern Rumelia with the administrative center of Plovdiv, which practically coincides with the territory now southern Bulgaria. Macedonia and Adrianople Thrace also remain in the territory of the Ottoman Empire. Moravian region remains within Serbia and Northern Dobruja was given to Romania by the Russian Empire. On September 6, 1885 in Plovdiv declared unification of Eastern Rumelia with the Principality of Bulgaria. On 22 September 1908 Bulgaria declared its legal independence from the Ottoman Empire.

Bulgaria now

Now Bulgaria is a parliamentary republic headed by a president who is directly elected by the voters for a term of five years. The flag and emblem of the country are well known to all. The country is rich with natural beauty, a diversity that small space makes it extremely attractive.



« back to articles