Rila Monastery - Monasteries

Rila Monastery - Monasteries 

The monastery is situated at 1.147 m altitude in the perfumed pine forests of the Rila mountain.
The monastery is a complex of cultural, residential and commercial buildings with a total area of 8800 square meters monastery features a unique architecture. Outside, a 24-meter stone walls of the main buildings, which form an irregular pentagon, the monastery has a kind of fortress. So worshiper or tourist who comes inside in one of two iron gates, remains surprised by the softness of architectural shapes: arches and colonnades, covered wooden staircase and carved balconies, behind which are cells - 300-400. In the middle of the cobbled courtyard in a strange symbiosis of live raw loopholes fortress tower and baroque silver domes of the main church. In the middle of the courtyard stands the oldest building in the complex - an impressive stone tower, built by the local feudal Sebastocrator Hrelyo in 1334-1335, immediately next to it stands a small church, which is only a few years younger (1343 ). In more recent times (1844) to the tower belfry was added. Around that time, the monastery's main church "Virgin Birth". Architect is a master Peter Ivanovich, who worked on it between 1834 and 1837 Temple is a 5-domed one with three altar niches and two side chapels. One of the most valuable things inside is incredible with its iconostasis carving. The murals were completed in 1846 and are the work of many masters, but only the famous Zahari Zograf has signed his paintings. The church has a number of valuable icons painted in the 14th and 19th century.

 

 

The monastery also has its own library, which is extremely rich literary material collected over the centuries. There are stored valuable Bulgarian manuscripts - about 250 manuscripts from the 11-19 century, 9000 incunabula, notated manuscripts, Renaissance graphic prints and more. The museum, located in the monastery also has a rich exhibition - a collection of 35,000 historical artifacts, rich collections of icons, works of applied art, carvings, religious and ethnographic objects. The museum owns a unique piece of art named the Cross of Raphael.Made of wood piece (81 x 43 cm) and is named after its creator. The monk used fine chisels, small knives and magnifying lens to carve the waist 104 religious scenes and 650 small figures. The work lasts no less than 12 years and was completed in 1802 - and then the author lost his eyesight.

 


 

Although considerable space available, the brotherhood is not really able to show all their treasures together - so along with permanent exhibitions and temporary governing exhibits at the monastery in different Bulgarian towns or abroad.

 

« back to articles